I'll take the job..

Zeta
Eton Blue at the Chelsea Megastore

Dear Mr Gourlay,

I am writing to apply for the soon to be vacant managers position at Chelsea FC.

As an employee you will find I am punctual, very hard working and my attention to detail is extremely thorough. 

Whilst I have no real experience in managing a football team, it's clear to me that the constant changing of managers at Chelsea FC, always going for a big name and then discarding them a season or two down the line, is simply not working. I'm sure you agree drastic changes are required if the club is not to free-fall into mediocrity. And as a supporter of Chelsea FC, who has watched every match the club has played for the last 10+ years, I feel I am in a position where I know the team, the players - strengths and weaknesses - very well.

If you were to appoint me as manager I would address the following issues immediately:

- Defence would go back to basics to stop the unnecessary conceding of goals. We would work hard on set pieces and high balls into the box, focusing heavily on marking our men tightly and ensuring they do not get any space with which to punish us

- Attacking-wise we would use much more width, rather than trying to pass our way through the centre of the pitch slowly in every attack. This would open us up to being able to play a much better counter-attacking game, breaking with pace down the wings and delivering balls into the box

In the long term I would begin to introduce many of the quality youth players we have at the club into the first team, integrating them in slowly alongside experienced players. Youngsters such as Chalobah, McEachran, Piazon, De Bruyne, Lukaku, etc... all have the ability to play for the club, if given the opportunity and the self-confidence to do so.

If given the opportunity, I would set forth a 3-year plan, in which the goals would be:

- The introduction of at least 3 members of the youth team into the first team